About Camp Timlo 1965 to 1976
This Web site was created in memory of Barr S. Morris, owner and director of Camp Timlo and Pine Log Camps. See Barr S Morris obituary.
This famous Adirondack children's camp was owned and managed by Barr S Morris and his wife Margy in the 1960's and 70's, along with Barr's father William G Morris and his wife Dorothy, the camp's founder (1935). A sister Camp Pine Log on Second Lake near Lake Luzerne village (founded in 1923 and purchased by the Morris family in 1960), also owned and managed by the Morris', was moved to Trout Lake next to Camp Timlo in 1976. (See family pictures.) The camps were closed mid-summer 1977. The Morris family and the Camps were located near Lake George, NY. This Web site was created after Barr Morris' death in September of 2012 and dedicated to his memory.
This Web site was created to provide a resource for memories for those who experienced the rich and exciting environment these unique children's camps provided in the Adirondack Mountains of New York State located near Lake George on Trout Lake at Diamond Point, NY. Dan Koenig, a student at Indiana University, arrived at Camp Timlo in the summer of 1965 and began his experience as the camp director of camping trips and taught photography. Dan became the Head Counsellor of the camp in 1967 and continued in this role through the summer of 1976. He collected many items of memorabilia and photographs and in his retirement moved these items to this Web site for the enjoyment of all who experienced the camp during this period.
After a trip to Albany, NY in October 2012 to meet with Margy Morris, the Camp Timlo Co-Owner and director during its period of operation, Dan was able to collect slides and photographs from the family collection. Stacey Morris, Barr and Margy's oldest daughter, was most helpful in securing a box of slides found among the family's holdings. These were slides used to promote the camp for future prospects and present to past campers at reunions during the winters. Slides from 1958 to 1977 were discovered among the collection. These slides were scanned and added by year (when known) to this site for the enjoyment of those who attended Camp Timlo and Pine Log Camps.
The formal photographs for the final year, 1975, were also found. A few of these formal groupings had name identification on the back. These IDs were inscribed on the bottom front of the scanned photos and added to the slide show. These were the only identified photos available. No other Timlogs, Logs, or correspondence were available. The camp office was destroyed and all documents were lost when the property was sold to developers in the late 1970's. Many memories remain in the minds (and a few in the holdings) of past campers and counsellors. This site will serve as a museum of scanned documents to remember these Adirondack summer camps that were so very important in the lives of hundreds living today throughout the world...and provide a visual history for their offspring.
If you found this site and would like to contribute to the memories by adding a story or experience, there is a companion blog site. If you have pictures or newsletters "Timlogs," please feel free to scan them and send them to Dan via email for inclusion in the site...or send originals via mail to be scanned and returned. Also, send information to add to the calendar any events you think might be of interest to past campers or counsellors, including reunion events or informal get-togethers open to the public. Enjoy the site and help contribute to it's contents. Read previous comments about this site.